My first fake panda

Discussion in 'Modern Chinese Coins & Medallions' started by silverstar1, Mar 7, 2012.

1. silverstar1

silverstar1 New Member

I received my first fake panda , a 1996 10Y , the first thing i noticed was the capsule was wrong for a 90s era it looked more like the new ones (which in itself is not conclusive), second was the date, the numbers were no serif like the 1999, third the mirrored finish looked wrong for a 96, fourth the frosting was alittle scattered on the polished parts like it was bead blasted, fifth the fur on the bear was wrong it was polished shiney with little texture, sixth the temple top was wrong different than any I have seen and a few other things. Luckily I am new to the 90s pandas so I look very carefully at each one and have graded ones and pictures to compare. Overall the coin looked very nice and someone that just glanced at it wouldnt think twice. I made the seller aware of this and they agreed to a refund so I sent it back. Judging from the other items they are selling mostly american coins I assume they did not know it was a fake . Just a heads up for anyone getting a 1996 panda.

2. fishball

fishball New Member Silver Stacker

Do you have pics (for future reference)?

Finally the 1996 fakes are surfacing, used to be worth so little it wasn't worth the hassle to fake.

3. silverstar1

silverstar1 New Member

I will try to post a picture later , last time I tried to post a picture it failed but i will try, I think the more fake coin pictures out there the better so people know what to look for. I should have checked the date right from the start before I purchased it because as far as I can tell there is only two varieties and this is neither . Still alot to learn.

4. Thor122

Thor122 New Member

Can you put the sellers ebay name. If he dont know he is selling faking pandas is ok. But is better to know he have one fake and can have more fakes.

5. silverstar1

silverstar1 New Member

Source: [​IMG]