Melbourne Panda Show and Tell

Discussion in 'Modern Chinese Coins & Medallions' started by yennus, Sep 21, 2011.

1. yennus

yennus Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Wow! I had a wonderful morning today.

I had a quick trip to Melbourne and saw a sample of a very pretty Panda collection.

It's nice to see some truly rare Pandas in Victoria.

I can't say too much, unless the person who I met volunteers the information. But I was amazed at the quality of this persons Panda stack.

A range of rare gold and bi-metallic Pandas...

... truly this Pandamonium is just getting started.

I hope this person will consider coming to the future SydneyStackers Meet and giving a short show and tell of his luscious Pandas.

Thanks again!

2. 25Grizzlies

25Grizzlies Member

Hi Yennus,

Sorry for the late reply here, just like to share my 2 cents here on my philosophy on Panda and other Chinese coin collecting.

I am not a professional or dealer but a keen collector, obviously all these are personal thoughts, ramblings, not meant to be taken as gospel.

To me it doesnt really matter what Panda/chinese coins you collect as they are ALL rare in the scheme of things. I'm in Pandas with a few chinese coins of interest on the side. I began collecting numismatically early on for a number of reasons.

1. I like the idea of being one of only a few to own a particular coin. and

2. These coins are outside spot price fluctuations. Hated seeing it go to $49 then back to $30 or whatever, thats' the GAME. Very rarely will you be selling a Chinese coin for less than what you paid for it. Ask the pandacollector, I would fall over if he said he has, haha. In fact there's a good chance if you keep it for at least 5 years you will be rewarded handsomely for your good decision to purchase it. The same can be said for a bullion coin but in my view the %profit is way better in Pandas. Look at PA's panda graph if you need proof.