Lunar prices

Discussion in 'Gold' started by null, May 24, 2011.

1. null

null Member

Hi all,

I am quite new to collecting/stacking ,etc. I have bought some silver(s) already (coins/bars,etc) but nothing substantial.

I am currently considering buying lunar series I gold coins (but just starting out so will not be able to do any 1 ouncer). So I am considering something like a 1/4oz. But having
    great difficulty googling for decent prices (it's all over the place!). I have been reading this forum for a while, so maybe the dragon is out of the question, so I was thinking maybe starting off with a rooster 1/4 oz as it's the birth year of my son.

So for all the sifu stackers out there:

1. Apart from the dragon, would there be a big difference in price between different animals (say rooster vs pig vs mouse, etc).

2. Are there price differences between proof lunars and non-proofs. If so, would it be worth paying a premium for a proof ???
    I guess being so rare the series I, I should get whatever's available when it comes.

So much to learn!!!!!

Thank you kindly.

PS: would I be able to get such a 1/4 oz for $450 - $550 AUD (this is my budget), and sorry if I have posted in the wrong section.

2. hiho

hiho Active Member Silver Stacker

I paid $400 for a 1/4 oz Goat recently
    Paid $190 for a 1/10 oz Snake
    Paid $190 for a 1/10 oz dog

3. pixha

pixha Member

If you are stacking then you should just go for the cheapest gold you can get. I can't really understand all this fuss over what picture is on it - if one is just into it for bullion.

4. hiho

He is just after a guide not a lecture :p

5. pixha

pixha Member

Sorry that was rude :)

6. hiho

Hey Phixa someone pointed out to me recently if you can buy Lunar Coins such as the 2011 rabbit for the similar price to the Kookaburra for instance then going by history those coins will fetch more in the future, food for thought?

7. pixha

pixha Member