Junk Silver?

Discussion in 'Silver' started by South_Carolina, Jan 6, 2019.

1. South_Carolina

South_Carolina New Member

Hello everyone. I'm a newbie here who recently started my silver collection. I've been buying Silver Eagles and am wondering what your thoughts are on are on 90% junk Silver coins. Are they worth having in the event SHTF? I feel like 90% dimes/quarters would be a useful and realistic currency for smaller items, etc. If so what would be the best way to accumulate junk Silver?

Thank.you for your help, I appreciate it.

2. Ian Gillman

Ian Gillman Active Member

I have 90% junk silver but not for any SHTF scenario, I wanted to diversify my stack a bit. It is worth having a bit of variety in your holdings so that when it comes time to sell the stuff you can sell whatever is most popular on that day/year and keep the other stuff until the fashion changes. The best way to collect it is just like anything else, make it a part of your regular purchases. Either purchase some Eagles and some 90% every month instead of all Eagles or alternate Eagles/90% when you do a regular purchase. It is also worth getting some rounds and bars as they are cheaper than Eagles. I have a bunch of Eagles/Maples etc... along with bars, rounds and 90%. Once I retire I want the people who buy my stuff to be pleasantly surprised at what I have and not just think "Here comes the ASE king again". As long as you stay close to spot and do not purchase fakes you really cannot go wrong.

Ivykoin and SlyGuy like this.
  3. South_Carolina

Thank you Ian. I appreciate the input. That's a great idea, I think I'll start purchasing a little of each rather than focusing in on one type

4. Jim4silver

Jim4silver Well-Known Member