Jumping on the bandwagon

Discussion in 'Welcome New Members' started by Supe, May 10, 2011.

1. Supe

Supe New Member

Trying to avoid noob or derivative of that word but not possible. I'm a silver noob. Said it. I don't own silver yet. My first buy (still waiting for it to arrive) was a 5gram job from Ebay. Paid a stupendous $18 thanks to post. Put it down to me wanting to own silver - even if in a small amount. Not economical though. Now I've ordered 9oz and still have to supply certified ID to seller before it is shipped. :( That'll have to wait till tomorrow. I really liked the look of the Pamp Oz bars and the ASE coins. So I've ordered a small amount of them to kickstart my silver odyssey. I know I could have paid less for the non-premium silver but I wanted my first bits of silver to not be anonymous looking.

So why silver? Like some here, I see portents. Not good ones (insert peak oil/rising energy prices/American hyperinflation/overpopulation/food shortages/failed states etc). The usual doom and gloom. I want to mitigate the impact of a severe economic downturn if/when it hits. If I'm wrong (and I hope so) and the world travels along its merry way for the next 60 years, I'll be ok with that too. I'm feeling a bit like I have missed the boat and expect to pay prices well over what many paid for their trove (ala the good ol days). So don't mind me if I am hoping silver does not not appreciate too much as I don't have a stack yet. I'm not in it to make fiat.

2. Jing

Jing Member Silver Stacker

Welcome, silver just had a massive dip.. so good timing on that front. Better than entering in the high 40s :)

3. zachary898

zachary898 Member

welcome to the Grid

4. phillis

phillis Member

...like what i did

welcome. but be warned, its like a drug this silver stuff!

5. errol43

errol43 New Member Silver Stacker