Is this pure silver?

Discussion in 'Silver' started by motochris, Feb 22, 2011.

1. motochris

motochris New Member

Hi, total newbie here. I picked up some silver junk coins the other day, and also got this 16 avdp ounce round. Now that I'm looking at it..... don't pure silver products either say "fine" or "Pure" silver?
    This one says .999 silver, but a post I saw elsewhere said there can be copper items plated in .999 silver, so I'm wondering what I have here.... I can't find much on this exact item, other than an EBAY listing for one like it from last year.
    Any help appreciated.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. SparkySilver

SparkySilver New Member

Open the case and weight it. If .999 it should weight 453 grams = + or - 4 grams. This should answer your question. :)

3. goldpelican

goldpelican Administrator Staff Member

Any paperwork with it? From all external appearances it appears to be solid silver. What are the dimensions (diameter/thickness)? Weighed it?

4. Guest

Guest Guest

Agreed, the .999 generally indicates the real deal.

Nice coin btw.

5. motochris

motochris New Member

What's to say it's not 16 avdp oz of copper w/ silver plating though?

No paperwork, came from my local coin shop. Looks ot be about 3 1/2" across, around a 1/4" thick.

It was this post on EBAY that suddenly had me wondering/concerned--- Many One pound coins are really one pound of copper plated with .999 fine silver.They often have a serial number on the side of the coin. They are marked ONE POUND on the reverse. These coins do weight one pound and will weight in at 454 grams.

6. goldpelican

goldpelican Administrator Staff Member

That's where the diameter/thickness will tell - you can calculate what the thickness SHOULD be from the weight/diameter, and see if it's within tolerances. Measure both in mm and post.

Also do a specific gravity test - there's a recent thread on here how to do it with water and digital scales.

7. motochris

motochris New Member