How/Where to buy just 100 or 300 unit of shares?

Discussion in 'Stocks & Derivatives' started by lookingaround, Sep 6, 2011.

1. lookingaround

lookingaround New Member

Hi,

Recently decided to invest in some mining shares, but is a complete newbie in this area.

I have been watching a few junior minor shares, and want to buy just small amount, maybe like 100 to 200 unit of it.

However, with Commsec, the minimum amount is $500, which is too much for me, as I want to buy like 5 or 6 different stocks, and that would be like spending $2000 to $3000 on risky stocks.

For a newbie just learning how to invest in junior mining shares that is very risky.

So does anyone know any stockbroker, online or in person, that is happy to take tiny orders? I like 100 to 200 unit of shares, that are often priced less than a dollar?

2. lookingaround

lookingaround New Member

That is a point I have considered too - $20 brokage fee out of $100 worth of share is a lot!

However, my plan is to go long on some of these investments - pretty much buying then when they are at a very early stages.

But to spend $500 on a company that may or may not produce anything, I probably would prefer to buy 10oz silver instead :)

3. Lovey80

Lovey80 Well-Known Member

You wouldn't bother with trading several shares for such low amounts. Even with stop losses in place taking a hit on any of them would amplify your losses when you add in trading costs. If you do your research properly 500 in one go should be fine. I noticed that CCC has just done a 1:10 share consolidation from something like 2.9c to 29c. I bought them at about 4.8c and sold in the mid 7c range before this last down turn. At 29c a share I think they are a great buying opportunity with growth ahead.

4. Au.Ag.Mzch

Au.Ag.Mzch New Member

I think that the minimum amount you can buy is $500 initially, but once you've made that first purchase then you can purchase lower amounts of shares than that; that goes for all trading platforms.