How bad are milk spots on maple leaf 2016?

Discussion in 'Silver Coins' started by Neoag, Aug 8, 2016.

1. Neoag

Neoag New Member

Hello all,

I am a total noob to stacking. I have heard many people say about milk spots on coins like the maple leaf 2016 I have seen videos on YouTube but I have not seen any good quality pictures. How much does it affect the price of the silver content? Can they be wiped off? Is it better for a newbie to pay a little more for tube and get some American eagle or Britannia?

Thanks in advance and sorry I know this must have been asked many times I tried to search and found no good threads.

2. barsenault

barsenault Well-Known Member

If you want something cheap and playing the spot game, and want a silver coin that has liquidity, I say these are fine, although I think the Eagles are better if you can get them for he same price. I'm a semi numi stacker (Perth Mint, Pandas), and don't buy the Eagles or Maples...sure they cost more, but less volatile against spot price over the short and long term...especially the long term.

3. Neoag

Neoag New Member

Thanks for the reply. When I stared looking in to investing in silver and gold I just wanted buy any but after a few weeks of research I also like the look of the coins. I am also wanting to do a long term investment not like some waiting and selling in a couple of years. I am not thinking of selling in a very long time more like 10-30 years. I love the look of the maples but I have not seen any pictures of the milk spots so can't see if they take away from the enjoyment of having them in my collection.

4. whay

whay Well-Known Member

>I love the look of the maples but I have not seen any pictures of the milk spots so can't see if they take away from the enjoyment of having them in my collection.<