Holding out for the crash

Discussion in 'Stocks & Derivatives' started by Guest, Jul 20, 2013.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Firstly I'll start out by saying I'm an absolute novice concerning mining equities.

I have about half the money I want invested in mining equities. I'm thinking no matter how undervalued the shares are at the moment, there's a monumental Earth shattering general stock market crash imminent that will at least temporarily smash all markets. Basically convinced this will happen, I'm finding it hard to keep the money on the side waiting for this event while some quality stocks are so undervalued.

Do you people think it best to have a toe in but also be ready to take advantage of the crash when it comes?

2. mmm....shiney!

mmm....shiney! Administrator Staff Member Silver Stacker

Have you read this thread salty? :)

I know it's not helpful but it's along the same lines and more.

3. Guest

Guest Guest

Thanks for the not helpful link shiney

:)

4. Clawhammer

Clawhammer Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Watching that doco on the 1929 wall street crash and the great depression just reiterated that during a crash there's only one thing people want...and its not gold or silver...it's cash.

Leveraged investors whom had 10% down recieved margin calls once their stocks had devalued below the initial 10%. Rather than giving up and cutting their losses, they did what they could to hold onto their stocks... selling whatever they could, cheap...anything to bring in some cash

And it was those holding the cash could set their own price and call the shots.

5. tolly_67

tolly_67 Well-Known Member

Why would the market crash?????????
    The money would have to run somewhere....
    European bonds......not likely.
    U.S. muni bonds........no freakin way.
    The Euro or Yen.........only if your crazy
    U.S. bonds.........not with interest rates about to turn