Half Sovereigns. Worth picking up or should one stick to full monty?

Discussion in 'Sovereigns' started by daddycool, May 18, 2013.

1. daddycool

daddycool New Member

I am just getting into physical and was starting to despair of finding any dealers locally (Manchester area UK). However, I started looking in on pawnbrokers today after reading the posts by VRS on how most will sell for bullion value plus a small premuim regardless of year etc. The first place I visited had only a pair of half sovs for 111 each which meant I could dip my toe for a small outlay. I checked spot and it was really close. I am still thinking gold might go down and the shop in question does price off the fix so if I wait I might collar a bit more of a reduction. Also while they didnt have any full sovs there was a smashing class 3 double eagle this time under the atkinsons and bullionbypost prices that tempted me to stretch my wallet a bit. The question though is whether half sovs are considered worthwhile. All I can see so far is they seem to have half the premium if they have any numismatic value compared to full sovs. That seems fair and also I could have more of them more often which might be bettr for me. I dont have a massive budget but I really want to go long term say 10 or 15 years. Maybe longer.

p.s. I went to 4 stores on this outing and one wanted 250 for a half sov and 600 for a full sov in 14 carat! because he said that was rare. I shant be going back there in a hurry unless they buy at those prices!

This is my first post, having been a reader for a month or so and a member as of today. Hope it aint a dumb question :)

2. Andy

Andy New Member

Hi Welcome to the form, I think the 2 half sovs you mentioned were priced well. I doubt you will be able to buy any, at less than that price ( athough it would be nice to be proved wrong). Nothing wrong with half sovs in my opinion.

3. JulieW

JulieW Well-Known Member Silver Stacker