Decisions, decisions

Discussion in 'Stocks & Derivatives' started by J-Money, Aug 8, 2013.

1. J-Money

J-Money New Member

Hi all,

Not sure if this is the right place for this, apologies if not.

I'm weighing up my options in regards to my stock portfolio (currently fairly weighted towards resources, PM miners in particular).

I should start by saying I am no expert, and am only in the early days of my investing career.

The following is my simplistic, and quite possibly straight out incorrect, take on what may happen in the short to medium term with PM's, miners, and equities in general;

With the Fed hinting more and more towards tapering their QE program, it's hard to see much upside potential for PM's in the short to medium term. Yes, it could still be 12 months away (hard to imagine longer), but just the constant threat of tapering it back seems to be enough to keep a lid on PM's at the moment. Once the tapering actually does begin, it seems to me there's a strong chance of PM's falling further. $800 seems unlikely, but $1000-$1100 could be within the realms of possibility. This will obviously have a big effect on the miners. Additionally, I think there'll be a general exodus from equities as well. I also think that this is when we'll see the bottom for PM's - sometime shortly after the tapering of the QE, once a bit of a flight from equities etc has occurred, and a further drop in the price of gold and silver, then a lot of that cash flowing into what will hopefully be perceived as bargain prices for PMs.

No matter which way it plays out, now (or over the coming months) seems like a good time to have some powder dry and ready. I have none.

So my options as I see them, are;

a) liquidate the majority of my holdings over the next few weeks/months (hoping for a brief rally in the mean time) and realize my losses, and thus have cash free to reinvest, whether that be in miners, PM's themselves, or some undervalued equities; or