Dealers disclosing trad-in PM?

Discussion in 'General Precious Metals Discussion' started by Kelsey, Jan 29, 2019.

1. Kelsey

Kelsey New Member

Should dealers fully disclose trade-in PM v New sales?

Last year I purchased some 100 kooks and 100 kangaroos from ainsliebullion in Brisbane, bit disappointed that the kooks where tarnished and the kangaroos had the tube seals broken, milk spotted and older then the date I'd ordered.

I mentioned it too them they didn't seem to care or care for my call in general, because i'm new to stacking and got a decent price I didn't press the issues.

The other day I went to order from them again, some 10 oz bars, I thought I'd check first to make sure I get sent new bars.
    I was told there is no guarantee I'd get new bars, however make a note on the order and they'd try and add new bars if they have them, if they don't I'd get traded in bars.
    I was told they don't distinguish between new and trad-in PM to make it better for clients to trade back to them., which I consider pretty lame excuse as they hardly give the best buy back price tbh?

Also every other Aussie dealer I dealt with clearly states when they are selling trad-ins or new?

So should dealers fully disclose trade-in PM v New sales?

Silverling and Shaddam IV like this.
  2. Shaddam IV

Shaddam IV Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Interesting question, I look forward to hearing other stackers' take on this. In retail generally it is accepted that a customer is to be supplied with a new product and if it is second hand this must be disclosed. I don't see that bullion dealers are exempt from this. I see that Goldstackers takes care to note such things on their items. It's just good manners and reasonable disclosure.

Kelsey, oziwassabi and jultorsk like this.
  3. Silverling

Silverling Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Yes they should. If you are paying for new you should get new. If they can not guarantee new then I would go elsewhere.