Copper as bullion

Discussion in 'General Precious Metals Discussion' started by copperhead, Jan 14, 2018.

1. copperhead

copperhead Active Member

I've been stacking silver for more then 6 years , occasionally I'd toss in a few copper bullion items just for fun . But really I don't see how copper could become like silver as a by the ounce PM . The main obsticale
    is it can be found for free . None the less

https://www.apmex.com/product/10396...-3402142-8702784-117672497-290552339-62605233

For now copper sells at scrap price or collector trinket price, accelerated well above scrap
    Items like this just keep being sold year after year , is there some thing I have not considered that will cause Copper Bullion to be traded like Silver .

Last edited: Jan 14, 2018
  2. whay

whay Well-Known Member

Spot price of Cu is $3.20 per pound. This 10 oz Geiger copper bar is about $2 at spot. I don't see any value stacking with 1000% premium. Copper price have to go to the moon for you to break even!

3. spannermonkey

spannermonkey Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

o_O
    Copper as bullion o_O
    I'm confused by the concept of the idea :eek:

4. StewyD32

StewyD32 Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

My friend asked me about this aswell and I instantly thought of him having to get a sea container to store it all, and probably the copper value would be the value the same as the sea container.

It will never be of bullion value due to this. Many people don't even stack silver due to storage reasons compared to gold.
    Buy a kg or two for novelty reasons ( paper weight, door stop etc) but that's about it!

5. Arch Stanton

Arch Stanton Well-Known Member

I accumulate scrap copper and aluminum from vintage cars I part out for my online business,
    plus other wires and bits I can find.
    It is sold at the local scrapyard, and the coin store is on the way home.
    I have bought many ozs. of silver this way, at basically no cost but my time and some petrol.