1929 sovereign for only 200

Discussion in 'Sovereigns' started by Dragunov, Feb 29, 2016.

1. Dragunov

Dragunov New Member

Hi, i recently found a guy that sells his 1929 sovereign for only this amount, I think is a MUST and he sent me two pics that i wanted to share with you, because tomorrow i will be paying him and im not pretty sure that its a real one (he says that is not a fake and its a 8gr one). Im not an expert, this piece would've my first gold addition so i just wanted to know if you can see something wrong about these two pics:

Since i have to pay first and there's a lot of fake sovereign or at least with 0.750 mill gold im a bit worried about this purchase!

[​IMG]
    Source:

[​IMG]
    Source:

To be honest, im in love with this coin

2. Dragunov

Dragunov New Member

3. Sneakypeen

Sneakypeen Active Member

I am not an expert in sovereigns but I do think it is in to good of a condition for his selling price and the age.
    Again I am not an expert.

4. projack

projack Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Looks fake to me

5. Dragunov

Dragunov New Member

Yeah i was thinking the same, but compared to others on eBay and a lot of them look like brand new, even older sovereigns from 1910 etc

6. hyphenated

hyphenated Active Member

Ah.

Well, not many people (anybody) discounts a gold coin below the spot price of gold. A full Sov should be Euro 268 plus premium. 300 Euro would be good for an uncirculated coin. 200? Dodgy. Any pawnshop should give him more, unless it's a half sov (which is obviously less than the weight he is citing.

Photos in isolation don't mean a great deal. It looks very shiny (suspiciously so). Sure, there are many UNC Sovs from this era, but there are some very shiny Chinese plated Sovs coming off the lines too, and the coin you are offered may be completely different. There are simple testers you can get, but this deal smells strongly of fish.