Goldman Sachs/Morningstar recommendations

Discussion in 'Stocks & Derivatives' started by StewyD32, Mar 11, 2017.

1. StewyD32

StewyD32 Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

As Im new to Commsec have been looking around the site and getting used to what is available. Its a pretty good site.
    There are recommendations from Goldman Sachs and Morningstar for companies when I start looking deeper at what I am interested in.

Are these recommendations worth listening too?

For example I am currently looking at TPG Telecom (TPM), and both Goldman Sach and Morningstar suggest strong buys and it is currently undervalued.

2. mistered

mistered Member

I worked at GS for many years. Their research analysts are well regarded, but they write mostly for large institutional clients (super funds, insurance companies etc) who invest with different goals and timeframes. Ie. they're looking for quarterly gains to outperform their competitors on the league tables.

So the recommendations may not be suitable for a small retail investor. But the analysis is generally good, and it gives you all the financials, so is a good place to start.

3. StewyD32

Thanks for that mistered.

4. finicky

finicky Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

No
    The rest is not worth reading.

Trying not to be glib but I have come to believe the phrase, "You get what you pay for" applies.

After they get their paying clients set they might publicise a 'buy' rating. After they sell they might publicise a sell rating. If they want to create a cushion of buying interest under the stock so they can exit easily when they choose I believe they are quite capable of continuing to publicise a 'buy' well after there is anything in it for the buyer.

I do look at profit projections by morningstar and brokers at comsec, but give it little weight. The most important facts are under the 'financials' tab in 'quotes and research'
    -> company historicals
    -> balance sheet