Maintaining and storing your silver coins

Discussion in 'Silver Coins' started by Tsuda, Nov 25, 2016.

1. Tsuda

Tsuda New Member

Hey to all. I'm new to silver coin collecting. I just wanted to get various thoughts concerning maintenance and storage of your silver. I've read a little on the subject. Most coin collectors say do not clean your coins. I've seen one article state only clean a coin to remove dirt. And do that with only distill water, mild soap, and acetone to rinse. I'll just keep my coins out of the dirt.

Storage of coins seems pretty basic also. Most articles state store your silver in a temperate dry place. Do not store in a wooden box, especially oak. I guess decaying wood can emit acidic vapors and thus damage the coins. I've seen people recommend anti-tarnish strips and silica gel packs. Use Mylar capsules. Has anyone had any problems using the capsules with a foam ring? Is there any way to prevent milking?

I have also purchased cotton gloves to handle the coins. Any other thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated.
    Happy Stacking,
    Tsuda

2. Golden

Golden Member

The less you touch them (even with gloves) and clean them the better.

Just leave it alone. Most people can't do it.

3. Tsuda

Tsuda New Member

Thanks Golden.

4. mmissinglink

mmissinglink Active Member

Welcome to the SilverStackers forum, Tsuda.

Storage of silver is an ever evolving "science". Milk spots are still somewhat of a mystery in terms of whether or not there are ways to predictably retard their development if the spots are prone to developing in the first place.

As for storage tips, it depends on what products you are storing and who you think will be your buyer when it's time to sell.