My Reality Economics Retail South Australia

Discussion in 'Markets & Economies' started by betterinvestmentthanshare, Oct 19, 2016.

1. betterinvestmentthanshare

betterinvestmentthanshare Active Member

Thought I'd Start a new thread and hope to keep it going......................what is the point?
    I'm a small business owner in retail...............Window Furnishings..................Blinds, Curtains, Plantation Shutters. New residential building related, existing home related, new commercial build tender.
    Hoping to give some insight to reality vs doom & gloom or hype economics ................
    Been in this business for a decade.

Started in 2006 from home and moved to a leased commercial retail property in 2008.
    Sales had increased on average of 20% compounding every year until 2015.

Review starts from our peak of sales 2014.

Our business peaked 2014, just under $1mil turnover...................
    Since 2014, sales had declined 10% in 2015.
    2015/16
    Sales had decreased by a further 5% on previous year
    Our cost have gone up and our mark ups have come down and have cost cut everywhere where I can where it does not affect sales income to remain competitive against the big big boys...............method of the madness..............make a smaller margin but a larger turn over. Pretty much making the same amount % of profit but working more.

June 2016
    Worst sales on record..................... didnt make budget, down -36%.................I put it down to the election................every previous election has put a big dent in sales, this had a worst effect than any previous election.
    July 2016
    Sales had pick up............just made budget.
    August 2016
    Sales over budget by 45%
    September 2016
    over budget 50%
    October 2016
    Project sales 20% over budget....................could be more fingers crossed.