Franklin Mint

Discussion in 'Silver' started by mmissinglink, Mar 28, 2016.

1. mmissinglink

mmissinglink Active Member

I'm not sure exactly why but Franklin Mint silver bars and rounds seem to not be very popular these days.

The Franklin Mint has been around since 1964.

I came to my precious metals consciousness just a little over 3 years ago....so obviously there were decades before this time in which I have little knowledge about collector sentiment toward Franklin Mint products. In recent years, it seems obvious though, that there is marginal interest in Franklin Mint silver.

Nonetheless, I personally see many of their bars and rounds are well designed and struck. So this thread is for those who have some curiosity or interest in Franklin Mint silver and for those who care to share a Franklin Mint bar or round they like.

Here's my first entry; it's from a series of 2-4 oz silver bars highlighting classic cars in proof-like silver:

[​IMG]

1965 Ford Mustang - obverse

[​IMG]

1965 Ford Mustang - reverse

2. Pirocco

Pirocco Well-Known Member

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

oh...silver bars rounds... don't know much about those.
    Some years ago (2011-2013 I think) the dealer I bought most of my silver from had now and then a Franklin Mint set for sale, under items that people sold to him. It didn't look like much interest, took quite a while for them to disappear (assumption = sold), and since, he ceased to offer buying (back) anything else than regular bullion coins / bars and specific junk coins from the country. About that latter, I wonder how many times he sold > bought back those same bags over the years lol. Saw them go, back, go; back, haha.

3. Jislizard

Jislizard Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

I just sold a set of International Society of Postmasters Official Commemorative First Day Covers and Sterling Silver medallions at our local coin club, they were made by Franklin Mint. I go spot for them. They will go to a good home.