New to the silver scene - questions

Discussion in 'Silver' started by pthysse, Jan 11, 2016.

1. pthysse

pthysse New Member

Hi all.

I'm relatively new to the silver scene but given current developments globally am keen to diversify, less so for making profit and more so for not trusting paper system much longer. A better store of wealth in the longer-term and during any possible crises.

Given the above context, I have a few questions.

- I'm assuming it's best to have a range of different forms e.g. some bullion, some coin, some big, some smaller?
    - I have previously bought 1kg PAMP bars which come with a certificate. I prefer the 'neat' look of the PAMP bars and the apparent trust of the source (PAMP Suisse) seems to give me more confidence in the product (particularly as today I happened to see a single 15kg bar and wow was it rough!!). However, in saying that I have no idea what to look for when I purchase - are there any tips to identify physically whether a product is legitimate or raises questions?
    - The same question for coins, in terms of what to look for? Recently got some Canadian Maple 1oz coins in 25x tubes. They are dated 2012 I think. Does the year matter?
    - Is the Canadian Maple a good purchase choice in coins for someone based in Australia?
    - Note these purchases are from a place called Ainslee in Australia, any feedback on this place?

Thanks for any help with the above!

Pieter

2. BuggedOut

BuggedOut Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Considering your motivation for getting into PMs (store of wealth / insurance against fiat failure) I would reccommend you aim for bars or maybe generic coins/rounds - either way you want to focus on getting LOW PREMIUM. Ideally at 0-2% above spot price.

Not neccessarily unless you think you need different sizes to trade/barter with in a full blown SHTF scenario (SHTF = S*** Hit The Fan).