Considering Selling

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Capri142, Dec 16, 2015.

1. Capri142

Capri142 New Member

With the low value of silver these days I am not really considering selling yet. I have been stacking silver for many yearsl, buying 5-10 oz of bullion every month, so I have a considerable amount of it on hand now. I'm getting older and hoping that the price will start climbing back up soon so that I can start selling some of the silver AI have. Having never sold any, what I am wondering is how much is it going to cost me? how much do the different vendors charge to buy my silver? Do any of them pay spot or will I have to pay them to take it?

2. sterling-nz

sterling-nz Well-Known Member

If you have been buying in the last 5 years then get ready to lose plenty of money.
    You will be much better off stashing it under your bed and getting a part time job instead.
    10oz month for 5 years=600ozt or $8500ish.
    Find another way and hold the metal

3. Holdfast

Holdfast Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Agreed, I wouldn't sell.

And, fwiw, new folk who are going to buy metal as a first purchase, find out how to sell before you buy, plus the tax implications.

Capri142

Have a look at the Buy and Sell prices, some of the larger dealers have prices on their web-sites.

Bullion Money
    https://bullionmoney.com.au/charts/gold (Live prices)

The Perth Mint (Not Live Prices)
    http://www.perthmintbullion.com/au/View-All-Bullion.aspx

Also, look at Ebay's sold prices for any particular coin or bar you have and then find out the fees involved with selling.

And...welcome to the forum. :)

4. Altima

Altima Well-Known Member Silver Stacker