Transition from pure stacker to collector

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Topherclaus, Nov 21, 2015.

1. Topherclaus

Topherclaus Active Member

I'm fairly new to the game but have been buying up a nice little nest-egg. In doing so I've caught the bug bad and really love the world of gold and silver.

My question is: when it comes to collectable pieces, what are the caveats and tricks to buying responsibly? I want pieces I can display but I also want have something that will hold its value over spot.

2. sterling-nz

sterling-nz Well-Known Member

NO SUCH THING.
    If you are going to collect gold and silver you should ONLY EVER COUNT ON SPOT PRICE AT RESALE.
    That's how to buy responsibly.

3. Jim4silver

Jim4silver Well-Known Member

SterlingNZ,

What you say is good advice to help keep a newbie out of trouble years later, but it is technically not accurate. I am a "stacker" at heart, but I have felt the pain of dropping prices and a couple of years ago decided to start seeking semi numis stuff at roughly bullion prices (sometimes I pay a bit more) to "hedge" the value of my stash against falling prices. I can go on ebay and see completed sales in my country and KNOW that I can get roughly that if I sell on ebay too. Of course things change over time and you can't depend on getting the same amount necessarily if you wait to sell a long time.

The main issue that would make me agree with you 100% Sterling is if silver were to RISE precipitously in price from where it is now (let's say get to $30 per ounce or higher). Then you would see the premiums start to really dissipate on many semi numis items. If prices stay low or go lower, you might see some semi numis coins worth more at that point than when silver was higher. That has been happening on some of my semi numis stuff and makes me want to sell now on ebay instead of procrastinating like I've been doing.

To the OP: