First post. New to silver scene. 1990 Australian Silver Kookaburra Qn.

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Lunzyboy, Sep 12, 2015.

1. Lunzyboy

Lunzyboy New Member

Hey all! My first post ever of hopefully many. Excited to join the silver community :)!

I am new to silver investment/collecting and I have a question on the 1990 Australian Silver Kookaburra.
    For my first ever silver purchase I'm looking at either buying the bullion version or the proof version of the coin. Which of the two do you recommend for a long-term investment? What should I avoid/look out for?

Cheers

2. Hi!
    Interesting choice, why in particular a 1990 Kook?
    I guess you would be paying between 40 and 50 AU for one of those or quite a bit more for a proof. They have already reached the peak price, I believe, so there is not any great prospect for further appreciation on that coin.
    Personally I would buy a current Kookaburra or better yet a China Panda for maximum potential gain in numismatic value.
    As for proofs, I tend not to buy these as from past experience I have found they do not appreciate as well as the non proof semi numismatics.
    The best I have found for appreciation are the half ounce, particularly the Lunar series.

3. Boyscout

Boyscout Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Hi and welcome

4. Lunzyboy

Lunzyboy New Member

I like the Kookaburra series and I thought a great place to start would be to get the first coin of release, but I'm not set in stone.
    Why would you say the China Panda would be the best investment?

5. Lunzyboy

Lunzyboy New Member

Also why would you say to get a current year coin as opposed to an older coin? Do these have a tendency to appreciate at a faster rate than older coins?
    Would a good investment be say - get a current years coin and trade it in few years for another coin ?

Thanks!

6. There are a lot of reasons for semi numismatic coins to gain in value and often there are just guesses or luck in how well you may profit.