New to silver and gold bullion , United Kingdom

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Jordan, Sep 2, 2015.

1. Jordan

Jordan New Member

Hi everyone, I'm new to the bullion scean. Really just want to amount enough to pass on to my kids when I'm dead and gone.
    Looking for best deals , in the UK I see we have a 20 percent tax on silver but none on Gold.

So I'm a long term investor in a way.

What I don't understand is the markets show silver at say 31 pence per gram but you buy it it's nearly at 90p .

Why is there such price differences between the markets and the sellers?

Any advice will be appreciated

;)

2. ninteno

ninteno Member

welcome and good luck.
    there is always a difference between physical and paperprice.
    the difference you have to pay for coins and bars is called premium

http://forums.silverstackers.com/topic-67235-premiums-on-silvercoins.html

buy your bullion in germany, you only have to pay 7% tax whicj is already included in your buying price.
    importing silver within the EU there is no additional tax you have to pay.
    importing from AU or US is different for you. you have to pay GB tax on import

3. Jordan

Jordan New Member

Out of curiosity I found nadir silver , a Turkish brand on eBay. Does any one have any idea how good this brand is as it seems very cheap compared with the rest.

4. mmissinglink

mmissinglink Active Member

Welcome Jordan,

the price above spot is the "premium". That premium generally varies based on the type of product you buy. If you are buying coins you will generally be paying a higher premium than if you were buying blobs (non-denominated, common, generic bullion bars and rounds).

Neither is necessarily a better buy...it really just depends on your beliefs and strategy.