Best Gold PM Kangaroo to Invest?

Discussion in 'Gold Coins' started by BuggedOut, Jul 26, 2015.

1. BuggedOut

BuggedOut Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

I'm new to stacking, but I am looking at getting into some semi-numismatic coins (both silver and gold)

I'm looking at the Perth Mint Australian Kangaroos and am wondering if they are a good option for collectors and stackers alike. If so, what denomination do people think would be the best option for medium-to-long term investment?
    The 1oz is closest to spot and probably would be my initial instinct to go for, but looking at the mintages :-

http://www.perthmint.com.au//docume...ngaroo_Gold_Bullion_Coin_Series_1987-2015.pdf

It looks like the 1oz changed from having a 350K maximum mintage to being unlimited in 2014, so is that likely to reduce the chance of growing a semi-numismatic premium in the future? Would I be better off paying higher premium for the 1/2, 1/4 and/or 1/10 fractional coins (which still have a max mintage) and just buying more of them? Or is the Declared Mintage a more important number when speculating on future likely demand/rarity?

Also, does the unlimited mintage leave the door wide open for a remint scenario down the track like what happened to the Kookaburra series?

2. dragafem

dragafem Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

kangas are not really popular and usually any size would go close to spot. buy the cheapest possible.

3. Altima

Altima Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Haha. Sorry but kangaroos aren't exactly collectible. Maybe you can try yyour luck with the anniversary one but don't get your hopes up.

Pay a little more for the gold lunars or gold pandas.

4. silverprepper999

silverprepper999 New Member

I never understood why kangaroos were not colectable. Different designd each year, personaly I like them more than lunars...

5. BuggedOut