melt my own silver bars ???

Discussion in 'General Precious Metals Discussion' started by randomname, Jul 22, 2015.

1. randomname

randomname Member

hello all. i am a newbie, although i have been browsing the site for a little now while without registering.

i recently made the decision to purchase my first bit of silver. was tossing up between some 1oz coins or a bullion bar, and ultimately saved up for a 1kg bar due to lower cost per oz.

but now i wonder whether i made the right choice. maybe i wouldn't want to sell the whole lot in one go especially if, as some people suggest, the price may appreciate somewhat over the medium/long term. i would use it as my insurance against hard times and sell a bit when needed. but obviously that is not possible now - it's all or none.

so my questions are as follows:

how do bullion companies or personal buyers such as on ebay or here buy silver? (i assume they have some kind of testing equipment ???)
    does it have to be in a minted or cast form from a well known company, or does it not matter?
    would i be reducing the selling price per oz by melting it into smaller lots? (my friend has a furnace which i could use.)
    would a melting of a known brand bar turn the metal into what's called "scrap"?
    all silver regardless of being minted/scrap is tested by buyers, right?
    would melting it (in a brand new crucible) contaminate the silver in any way and subsequently reduce purity and its value?

those are the questions i can think of now... i'm sure that people will know more than me and answer some that i have not even thought of yet!

pouring your own bars sounds like a whole lot of fun anyhow.

any comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance.

2. Golden ChipMunk

Golden ChipMunk Well-Known Member

Hi and Welcome to SS forum
    Where are you locate?

I wouldn't recommend melting your own bars.