Are the silver coins with color images at 500% cost worth it?

Discussion in 'Silver Coins' started by metalsaver, Jun 6, 2015.

1. metalsaver

metalsaver New Member

I had started buying silver coins when I have spare money to keep as savings and word got out and now at my birthday someone started giving me silver coins but the ones with color images on them that are sold at 500% the value of the silver itself.

I'm talking about coins like this:

http://www.mint.ca/store/coins/1-oz...Mintage_10000_2015|Shop-Silver_&#.VXM8Ts94pUQ

I highly doubt these would ever be worth the extra amount they are sold for so am I right that these are mostly a waste of money and go against the purpose of saving? I would think silver would have to go up 500% for them to just be worth what they were sold for but I'm no expert. In the event of the dollar loosing its value does it make any sense to be buying these overpriced coins with color images to use as savings?

If as I suspect these are a waste of money, what would be a gentle way to tell this person I'd much rather they spend $20/ounce for plain coins than over $100/ounce for coins with color images?

Thanks

2. Jim4silver

Jim4silver Well-Known Member

I agree that you would have a better profit potential if this person gave you bullion vs. the expensive collectible coins. However, since this is a gift someone chose to give you, I believe it would not be smart to try to tell them you would rather have a different type of silver. Unless of course, they ask you for your preference, or unless it is someone you know won't take offense by you asking for something different.