New to silver/forum

Discussion in 'Silver' started by comeng84, Feb 11, 2015.

1. comeng84

comeng84 New Member

Hi there

I'm new to Silver and new to the forum. This looks like the most active online community in Aus so here I am.

I have been looking to invest/collect Silver Bullion for a while and I have decided to pull the trigger. Money unfortunately is an issue, so I am starting out small.

With all the diferent options for Bullion available, is it worth spending the little bit extra to get bars that have a serial number? e.g. Souther Cross 1oz bars don't seem to have any number on them, yet other mints like Scottsdale or PAMP do.

Thanks in advance for helping a newbie out :)

2. Gazza79

Gazza79 Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Howdy & Welcome :)

3. Greg Williams

Greg Williams Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

4. phrenzy

phrenzy In Memoriam - July 2017 Silver Stacker

In one ounce bars there is basically no point. I suppose if you had both a fear of theft and unshakeable faith that your insurance would pay out if you have recorded serial numbers then, maybe, but it's debated whether they are worthwhile on 100oz bars so I wouldn't worry too much about it. Certainly there are so many 1oz bars and rounds out there you aren't at all likely to track one down that's been lost or stolen because of its serial (imagine trying to find a $10 note you lost on the street using it's serial).

It's one of those things that's nice and if it doesn't cost you more you'd happily have it but if the bars with serials are 10% more expensive your essentially giving up a bar for every 10 you buy. If your starting out small then you want to squeeze every gram you can out of the money you have.