Silver damage from touching it?

Discussion in 'Silver' started by jeremiahj, Sep 3, 2014.

1. jeremiahj

jeremiahj New Member

Hello all. I ordered about 20 silver coins from Kitco a couple years ago. I was a Noob, and I touched the silver with my bear hands. When I checked on them a month ago, they appeared to be dusty or dusty from putting my fingers on them. That made me nervous and I just stashed them away for 2 years and never cleaned them. Is there damage on them now that hurts their value? Can I still get full (or close to full) price on them?

Should I clean them? What should I do if I want/need to handle them in the future? Thanks.

2. renovator

renovator Well-Known Member

You have "bear" hands ? must be hard to put on a long sleeve shirt :p:

3. SpacePete

SpacePete Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

He's from the U.S., they have the right to bear arms.

4. barsenault

barsenault Well-Known Member

Well, seems like everything is a joke to some. LOL. I'll answer. You should never touch or clean a coin...especially or numismatic or semi-numismatic value. Those marks will not come off, and you should clean, and make matters worse. No matter how soft the material is you WILL scratch the surface...trust me, I learned the hard way!

5. spannermonkey

spannermonkey Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

If yo want to fondle your silver , just buy bars
    Or low premium that doesn't come in capsules

6. renovator

renovator Well-Known Member

ok ok i'l be serious dont ever touch your bar ...ive heard you will go blind :rolleyes:

@ silver pete ..I laughed out loud

ok now i'l be serious dont touch your silver if it has a premium get yourself some generics to touch.

7. Caput Lupinum

Caput Lupinum Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

No glove, no silver love

8. Jislizard

Jislizard Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

I wouldn't stress too much about it, if you bought 20 then I am guessing they weren't proof or anything like that!