Rounds VS Gov Silver, which to buy.

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Camreno, Aug 19, 2014.

1. Camreno

Camreno New Member

I'm sure I am beating a dead horse but no search results came up.

I have been collecting silver for a couple years now, however not much. Its now time for me to get serious about preparing for my future. I have included in my business plan to buy at least 100oz per month. With that being said, what do you believe would be the best one to buy, rounds/bars or Government silver? Both have their plus sides, but the downside to ASE's from what I heard is that you cannot melt them.

What are your imputs? Thanks.

2. fltacoma

fltacoma Member

Honestly, I would say that you would get more ounces per dollar with generic rounds vs. Government rounds. Some people say that everyone who collects silver for bullion aspects should have a mix of generic and govt silver. For myself, I have a mix of 20% ASE'S and the rest just bullion rounds. If you plan on getting 100 oz's a month just for long term, I would get a couple 100 oz bars and some 10 oz bars followed by 1 Oz generic and govt rounds. For the extreme long term play, gold would be the way to go! I would say allocate 10% to your OVERALL holdings gold wise that is :)

3. Nabullion Dynamite

Nabullion Dynamite Active Member

Buy silver coins and then melt them into bars!

4. nbboy1123

nbboy1123 New Member

ASE can be melted. Only pennies and nickels are banned from melting for the underlying metals based upon the cost of production far exceeds the metal value.

5. Camreno

Camreno New Member

Oh they can? I figured since it was a government issued coin, with a dollar face value making it currency it would be illegal.

6. Pirocco

Pirocco Well-Known Member

You see a ban on melting ASE's as a downside in a choice whether or not buying them?
    You really consider melting ASE's?
    For what reason?