Saving for a rainy day!

Discussion in 'Silver' started by nbboy1123, Aug 13, 2014.

1. nbboy1123

nbboy1123 New Member

Although I've stacked for a while, a new goal I've started is to "save for a rainy day." What I mean by that is I am saving all of my change in a jar from every dollar I break and once it's full I'm going to cash it in to buy something either in gold or silver just for fun. Normally I see coins I'd love to buy, but can't justify the premiums during my normal stacking budget. So the reason I'm telling you this is a fun thought experience. If you had and extra $300 what would you buy that you've been wanting for a long time? :p

2. renovator

renovator Well-Known Member

Good strategy I have been throwing my daily coins in a container since i started work many years ago . It adds up . Most times it was enough to pay a bill of some sort & i didnt have to use my pay or savings

3. sammysilver

sammysilver Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

4. TreasureHunter

TreasureHunter Well-Known Member

If you're seriously thinking about "saving for a rainy day", you should buy the purest, cheapest silver bullion coin - I'd suggest:
    http://www.primevalues.org/hard-assets/canadian-silver-maple-leaf-1-oz-coin.htm

If you're finding it very hard to save and you can rarely save a few hundred dollars a year, then go buy food reserves.
    You'd probably be better off saving on food with your 300 $. With it, you could buy a lot of food to store away. Especially if products are bought at a discount, it would be a bargain.

5. Pirocco

Pirocco Well-Known Member

I also started to do this, but only for the biggest coins, and for another reason: to avoid running out of cash due to silver online shopping.
    Your case is like the opposite, and I wonder whether the dealer will laugh or cry when you arrive there with your jar change.

6. Big A.D.

Big A.D. Well-Known Member Silver Stacker