New Stacker

Discussion in 'Silver' started by wthim3, Jul 23, 2014.

1. wthim3

wthim3 New Member

Hey everyone I am new to collecting silver. I'm starting young (I'm 20) and plan on collecting silver and eventually some gold, and don't plan on selling it until I think about retirement or if the prices skyrocket. I am up to only 7 oz so far, a 1 oz APMEX bar and 6 Sunshine minting rounds. Just looking for some general tips like what to collect, the amount of gold I should invest in, where to buy, and some other tips that stackers wish that they knew earlier.

Thanks!

2. Howe

Howe Member

Welcome, I'm also currently new to collecting silver, recently turned 19 and I've got 2kg of silver. Coins are more liquid than bars however coins are more expensive and theres a premium price to it.

3. House

House Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Welcome young lad :)

Hve a look at the FAQ link in my signature, should be some useful info for you there.

General tips- stick with low premium and recognized coins and bars until you have a better understanding of metals and what direction you want to go (maximize ounces, numismatics etc). As a newbie, only buy from reputable dealers and stay away from eBay, too many counterfeits out there. Buy a neodymium magnet, some decent digital scales and become familiar with common fakes so you can identify them a bit easier.
    Also take people like James Sinclair, Mike Maloney, Jim willie etc with a huge pinch of salt. If they're selling you metal, they're selling you the hype ;)

There's no real rule of thumb for how much gold you should own (if any) so it depends on a number of varying factors. Some are very heavy on silver ( http://forums.silverstackers.com/topic-55165-am-i-the-only-one.html ) for various reasons such as the Gold Silver Ratio (GSR). Others are heavy gold as it's considered a 'safe haven' asset in times of economic uncertainty.