just bought my first 10oz bar

Discussion in 'Silver' started by stu633, May 30, 2014.

1. stu633

stu633 New Member

Hi guys.

I have recently started stacking silver and bought my first 10oz bar from perth mint.
    I plan to do a 50/50 split of cast bars and coins.
    what coins would you recommend, im pretty new to this and am sure i heard someone say that the perth mint coins are nice for collectors but poor value for bullion purposes.
    would i be better off buying silver eagles or maple leaves?

thanks in advance for any help

2. Nugget

Nugget Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

What country are you in?

3. 10ozhound

10ozhound Active Member

Hey Stu633, congrats on the first 10ozer.
    Can I ask why you recently got into stacking?

4. Fat Freddy

Fat Freddy New Member

Where you are does count. If in the US, ASEs have the best liquidity, so they're a good idea. If you're in Canada, Maples (despite their wretched milk spots) have great liquidity, so they're a good idea. Wherever you are, Perth Mint 1oz Lunars have good liquidity and a track record of appreciating pretty well. To a large degree, it's a personal preference thing but what you buy should be governed by your stacking objectives. If you don't have objectives and a game plan, you're dancing in the dark.

BTW---put that first 10ozer in a ziploc bag with a note documenting it being your first 10oz bar, the purchase date and price. If you stick with stacking, you'll be glad you did later on because it'll end up being a sentimental momento.

5. stu633

stu633 New Member

sorry i should have mentioned. I am in Perth so I have the added ability to walk into perth mint and buy what i want.
    There are a few reasons i got into stacking. It all probably started when i went into the perth mint refinery for my job (not the one where you do tours buy the main one where all the mining companies etc send their gold to be cast) after working there and seeing so much gold and silver that got my brain thinking.