How crocs will affect sales of 2015 kooks, koalas and lunars

Discussion in 'Silver Coins' started by Myles & Myles, Jun 1, 2014.

1. Myles & Myles

Myles & Myles New Member

Now that Perth Mint has released a much cheaper option for stackers of Aussie silver coins, I'm just wondering what you guys think will be the effect that this will have on sales of 2015 kooks, koalas and lunars. I'm a newbie to precious metals but my assumption would be that kooks, koalas and lunars sales will be down as more people go for the crocs instead. However, I'm sure there will still be many people who prefer the kooks, koalas and lunars for various reasons - for example, the fact that they are individually encapsulated as opposed to the crocs, as well as the issue of potential increase in numismatic value for lunars, for example. Also, some may even say that the introduction of crocs could actually increase sales of the older three series as it will draw more attention to Australian silver coins from overseas buyers, as well as those who are completely new to silver. However, I think this is unlikely. My assumption is that since more people will now opt for crocs, the sales of 2015 kooks, koalas and lunars will be down, but I could be wrong.

What do you guys think the effect will be?

2. worldbubble

worldbubble Active Member

animals of different sizes

3. Aureus

Aureus Active Member Silver Stacker

I'd say the only series that could feel the effects is the Koala, but given that can be minted to meet demand year round I don't think it'll be hurt too much.

Lunars and kooks are in a different league, they'll sell out regardless.

4. Miloman

Miloman Active Member Silver Stacker

^^^^
    Agreed.