Any 8 reales experts?

Discussion in 'Numismatics' started by baja, May 24, 2014.

1. baja

baja New Member

So I have been trying to get my hands on a pillar dollar for quite some time, but between them being expensive and so many fakes it has been dificult.

So i saw this item today on the bay today 131196215561.
    Am wondering:
    - does it look fake?
    -how much does it being turned to a brooch affect the value?

Thanks

2. bja

bja Member Silver Stacker

The brooch reduces any potential numismatic value significantly. As for a fake, a very quick look, nothing stands out (but I am by no means an expert in pillar dollars). Why not save a bit longer and buy one from an auction house, better quality and not a likely fake.

3. Silver Soul

Silver Soul Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Looks legit to me. As for the brooch approach. Well :rolleyes: The Numi has lost all its value.
    I have a few of these for metal swaps, PM me if your interested.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

4. House

House Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

^^^That's a Spanish/pillar dollar, OP linked to a columario ;)

Doenst look legit if you compare it to this one that went for $13k at a real(e) auction house

[​IMG]

Total difference in just the 1755 alone;
    [​IMG]

Caveat emptor.

5. bja

bja Member Silver Stacker

^^^ dont forget there were lots of different mints and die sets spread out around the world for spanish silver

6. baja

baja New Member

Thanks for all the reply's, i am glad it looks legit but will probably take the advice given and save up some more $ to buy a better specimen.

House... agree on the date being totally diff. But the brooch has a mint mark of MO (or OM) meaning Mexico mint, the one you posted has a mint mark of LM, so maybe different mints used different fonts on the dies.

Thanks again guy's, this is a great forum !

7. House

House Well-Known Member Silver Stacker