Could the US mint or federal reserve counterfeit silver?

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Cheese Kun, May 23, 2014.

1. Cheese Kun

Cheese Kun New Member

Hello everyone, this is my first time here and I'm a new and pretty young stacker, I've recently started my collection with a few silver eagles minted this year which I bought from a bullion website and which I hope to expand. I have done quite a bit of research into precious metal stacking and one of the areas I researched were counterfeit bullion coins circulating, how to detect them and so forth. I tested the coins I have in my possession by analysing the detail of the coins and testing them with a neodymium magnet and I'm confident they're genuine.

However, while most of the counterfeit coins are thought to originate from china something which I have been worried about is if the US mint were to deliberately counterfeit their own coins so they were not actually silver or at least not 0.999 fine. This thought occurred to me when I had discovered that there were also fake gold bullion coins circulating which had a tungsten interior http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XG6qbgxzgzc. This concerned me as gold was something I was considering investing in as well when I am older and hopefully have more disposable income. After doing some more reading one of the suspects for these counterfeit bars was actually the us government/ federal reserve, you could probably get a summary from watching this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m4scUyqdWlQ. Now I'm not one for conspiracy theories but I find this believable, the US needed money so they counterfeited gold in order to make money and also manipulate the gold price, in the event that these bars are discovered far in the future it reduces the spot price of gold as investors will want to sell as they will be uncertain if the gold they own is genuine which the government can then buy at a reduced price.