Should Governments Run Surpluses?-Professor Steve Keen

Discussion in 'YouTube Digest' started by Greg Williams, May 3, 2014.

1. Greg Williams

Greg Williams Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

2. mmm....shiney!

mmm....shiney! Administrator Staff Member Silver Stacker

Quick synopsis?

3. Greg Williams

Greg Williams Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Im not too good at synopnisising :p so I put a link to his article for you to read - I hope that will surfice :)

4. errol43

errol43 New Member Silver Stacker

9 Countries in the black, including 4 large oil producers. :) Norway and Sweden leading European countries with a surplus.

Is Australia on the way to join them?

Regards Errol 43

5. Clawhammer

Clawhammer Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

OK... Synopsis. our current system (measured in GDP) requires constant growth through money creation.

This occurs in both the Public Sector (Govt) and the Private sector (Banks).

13mins shows some modelling...

If the Govt runs a constant 1% Surplus, year after year, GDP will tank because it has the effect off extracting money from the economy. Private banks over lend and while the public balance sheet looks good, the private sector is drowning in debt.

14:30mins

Running a small permenant Govt defcit stabilises debt and GDP because enough cash is being created by public and private sectors to fuel the economy.

6. Goldrush

Goldrush Member