Complete nOOb - Need an answer to a very basic question!

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Myles & Myles, Mar 22, 2014.

1. Myles & Myles

Myles & Myles New Member

Hi everyone. This is my first post. I'm completely new to stacking and this is going to seem like a stupid question to most of you so I apologise for that. However, I'm confused about something:

After doing some research and thinking, I have decided to buy some 1 oz 2014 Koalas. Currently spot price is about 22 point something, but the Perth mint and most of the bullion companies seem to be selling these for something in the low 30s even if you buy 100 of them. However, in a few different articles and books (e.g. Mike Maloney's book) I've read it says that you shouldn't pay more than 8% more than the spot price for silver. However, if the spot price is 22 and I shouldn't pay more than 8% above spot, then that means I shouldn't pay more than 24. However, I can't find anyone who is selling it for anything near this price.

Is there anywhere in Melbourne that I can physically get a 2014 Koala 1 oz for about $24?

I don't understand. Can someone please explain this to me in simple language without the jargon. (I hope this post is also helpful for other newbies too who may happen to read this.)

Thank you.

2. Caput Lupinum

Caput Lupinum Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Yeah but what kind of silver is Maloney talking about when he says you shouldn't pay over 8% spot price? From what I've seen of him he tends to buy ASEs buy the box so they probably do work out to be less than 8% per coin

3. worldbubble

worldbubble Active Member

I'd bought kookaburras ...

4. bull_bear

bull_bear New Member Silver Stacker

Hi Miles,
    If you want to buy silver for that sort of premium, you need to buy larger bars. Not collectable legal tender coins.
    A 10oz perth mint bar is around spot+10% and a kilo bar around spot +8%.