Insurance...

Discussion in 'Silver' started by At20, Sep 13, 2013.

1. At20

At20 New Member

I'm new to stacking and was wondering if any of you guys insure your stack? As in part of your home insurance.

Is the insurance company going to laugh at me if I ask or can you just lump it together with the jewellery that you may own?

Ideas? Experience?

Thanks.

2. Elemental

Elemental Active Member Silver Stacker

Just recently had a look at this - do an online quote with SGIO. You are specifically able to add insurance for collections including stamp and coin collections. As long as you buy bullion coins rather than bars I think you should be covered (no one item can be more than 10,000 I think). The extra insurance cost was very minimal as a percentage of insurance and I think well worth it. Do your due diligence and all that.

3. Midnight Man

Midnight Man Member Silver Stacker

My personal experience has been that as soon as an insurance company finds you even have a modest amount of bullion, they won't offer you any insurance at all.

I have spoken to a couple of insurance companies in the past couple of years, as soon as they asked "anything additional to insure" (paraphrased question), you mention bullion, they thank you for your time, apologise, but are unable to offer you any cover (yes, any cover at all - even if you specifically mention and want to remove the bullion - the "overall risk" becomes "too great" as the bullion becomes a "big target"), and that's the end of the call.

I am also referring to major insurers, who will not be named here, but they're popular, well known, household name brands.

4. Fat Freddy

Fat Freddy New Member