New to stacking - general questions about starting off

Discussion in 'Silver' started by chriskat, Jun 17, 2013.

1. chriskat

chriskat New Member

Hi all,

I'm very new to stacking, still working towards my first kilogram, made up mostly in smallish denominations.

One thing I'd like to know is whether I should hold off and look at making purchases of larger bars, rather than incrementally accumulate? For example, will it be harder to shift a large amount of 1oz bars rather than an equal weight in the 10oz form?

Also, with regards to authenticity - I have dabbled with ancient numismatics in the past and have found forgeries to be a constant problem for ancient coin collectors. What is this issue like for silver stackers? I am happy to stack low premium silver as a pure investment in PM, but when I sell, do other buyers generally get it tested? Will it be at their expense, or mine? What things should I consider when choosing the type of silver to invest in?

thanks,
    Chris.

2. thatguy

thatguy Active Member

5oz perth mint lunars (current year)... can't go wrong on all fronts :D

3. Maggie

Maggie New Member Silver Stacker

Hello and welcome :)

4. Fat Freddy

Fat Freddy New Member

1---Welcome to SS.
    2---1oz bars and 10oz bars are both pretty liquid.