Bullion database website?

Discussion in 'General Precious Metals Discussion' started by fixxation, Jun 10, 2013.

1. fixxation

fixxation New Member

Hi guys

Just wondering if anyone knows of a bullion database site that lists all mints and every single bar ever made to date? OR as complete as possible-- does such a thing exist? Was hoping there's be something similar to Discogs.com (for music) and IMDB (for movies/film) but for Bullion bars/coins/etc.

Cheers

2. bron suchecki

bron suchecki Active Member Silver Stacker

3. fixxation

fixxation New Member

Thanks for that bron.

I've been thinking about making such a site for a while now also, there is no real definitive central database of all the different mints and historic data about all the ingots/coins out there. It would need to be fast and very user friendly... being a web developer myself I think it's something I could do in my spare time.

Only problem is building the database, it would have to be fully contributed to be users... what does everyone think, would this be useful it it existed and would you contribute to building up the database?

Cheers,
    Anthony

4. Midnight Man

Midnight Man Member Silver Stacker

Anthony, I think it would be a great idea to have such a thing available. I would be happy to contribute whatever data I could (which is potentially not much, as my stack is pretty common, Perth Mint and other popular items).

I'm no expert, but it would seem that you've identified the tricky part, that is assembling all the data. The problem with it being open to input from users - how does one ensure the veracity and accuracy of the data being submitted? For some items, surely the manufacturer's websites can reveal official information, and those items will be a "no brainer" (just a lot of hack work) to put into a database. But for mints that no longer exist, or products that no longer exist, this becomes open to use/submission - and abuse - by users/nefarious users of the site.