Prospecting Tours

Discussion in 'Prospecting & Detecting' started by donkey74, Mar 11, 2013.

1. donkey74

donkey74 New Member

Hi all, does anyone know of ay prospecting tours in Western Australia?
    I have no gear and no experience but I would love to try my hand at a bit of prospecting.
    Thanks.

2. madcowinc

madcowinc Member

+1 Melbourne - anyone interested in doing one as a group?

3. STC

STC Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

4. Ozboy

Ozboy Active Member

Been wanting to do this for awhile... just would like whoever runs the tour to be able to give some instructions as well.

5. Eureka Moments

Eureka Moments Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

6. rbaggio

rbaggio Active Member Silver Stacker

I tell you this much, if a few of the experienced prospectors on SS teamed up and offered to guide a prospecting tour for vetted SS members, people would come from all over Australia.

7. Austacker

Austacker Active Member

I would gladly take out some folks no problems at all. I am confident of getting you there and back. However not having found ANY gold at all probably doesn't make it too appealing :(

8. donkey74

donkey74 New Member

Lol, sounded good up till the ANY bit...
    I'll be happy to find 1 nugget so I can tick it off the bucket list. Wonder if they will let me pan at the Perth Mint?

9. Austacker

Austacker Active Member

There is a reason why it is precious, so far I have done over 4,200k's searching for the stuff. I can tell you though I know the tracks, where there has been plenty of activity and some where none has been. The problem you have is time. Even searching for a few hours in an area is really only hit and miss. There is sooooo much land out there.

I am sure there is still plenty to be found, but when they say "No one gets all the gold" I can tell you that they certainly got a good share of it :(