Brand new to this help needed

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Deano3, Jun 26, 2012.

1. Deano3

Deano3 New Member

Hi all my name is Dean i live in the uk and i am new to all this but have heard a lot about how i should invest in precious metals etc, i have been reading for last few days on the net and seems like a decent investment (has to be better than putting money in bank) any way i purchased a 1oz coin yesterday it costs 22 pounds then add the postage and VAT and comes to nearly 28 but thats just to get ball rolling, i dont have great amounts of money to spare but i do have a around 300 pounds to invest then maybe 100 pounds every month, i have many questions a few listed below

1, is silver a good investment and is it likely to continue to rise in price
    2,is the spot price the price that companys are buying it for ?
    3,anyone have any good sites for the uk to read and learn or to buy
    4,Big question is it better to buy bars or coins

Many thanks for reading and any help would be great sure these have been asked a million times
    Thanks Dean

2. Deano3

Deano3 New Member

3. thatguy

thatguy Active Member

1, Dunno
    2, Spot price is the price for a contract of 5000oz of silver on the exchanges (NYMEX, GLOBEX ETC...)
    3, Not me but some here
    4, I have heard 1kg coins are good for tax purposes in Europe??
    5, Your body weight, make an mini statue of your self :p

Stay away from bargains... they are usually scams/not real Ag, concentrate on value.

Here's 4 tips for you
    1). Research
    2). Research
    3). Research
    4). Research

4. Jislizard

Jislizard Well-Known Member Silver Stacker