America fell off the fiscal cliff a long time ago

Discussion in 'Markets & Economies' started by goldpelican, Jan 12, 2013.

1. registered nutcase

registered nutcase New Member

Can the US government play with derivatives, or is it a bank only thing?

2. Dogmatix

Dogmatix Active Member

You might be thinking about Japan... in the future

Otherwise, as Lovey80 said, you're way off.

Edit: Unless you're talking about some morph of public and private debt, in which case I have no idea what the point is.

3. bordsilver

bordsilver Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

I'm not sure what this default comment is in relation to and I think I'm missing the purpose of your comment but I'll try to put some perspective around the US Government debt (for my benefit as well since I've never done this before).

According to the debt clock Federal Govt:
    Revenue = $2.47 trillion
    Current on budget debt = $16.45 trillion
    Interest on debt = $0.2657 trillion
    This implies a current average interest rate of just 1.61%. :O

From my understanding this low rate has largely been achieved because the Treasury had deliberately targetted near-term bonds yielding close to zero (thanks to Bernanke) rather than 10-30 year bonds. I don't know how much operation twist affected the average maturity date (but I think it is largely irrelevant).

Let's assume that the Federal Reserve actually starts to increase interest rates after 2015 and let's assume that by, say 2017, the short term rate is back to 4% with say the average bond profile of the US Govt portfolio at 5%. If the debt ceiling is not increased at all then the interest bill will jump to $0.8225 trillion. Is this sustainable?