New to investing in Silver

Discussion in 'Silver' started by bigt0169, Jan 2, 2013.

1. bigt0169

bigt0169 New Member

My grandfather recently passed away and before he passed he left me some of his silver coins. He was an avid investor and I know he loved silver. He left me about 15oz of silver in various coins, most of his investment went to his kids, my mom, my aunts and uncles. Also he gave some to my siblings and cousins. I have a big family. I want to keep his memory alive by investing in silver, he was a great man and I want to follow in his footsteps. I don't know the first thing about it. I know that precious metals are a great investment and it could hit $40 to $50 an oz in a few years. Where should I start? What should I invest some money into? Coins? Bars? also where is the best place to buy? Any info would be greatly appreciated. Newbie here. Thank you!

2. Dogmatix

Dogmatix Active Member

3. JollyKillBill

JollyKillBill Member

4. Guest

Guest Guest

I see your in the US. I'd go pre decimals if I was living over there. Reason being is that there's boatloads of them and they're cheap. Eagles are nice but cost more than a dirty old pre decimal.

Alternatively, just get as much metal as you can for your money, meaning bars. Don't waste your time on numismatic coins unless you know what you're doing.

5. Dustin

Dustin New Member

There's a lot of great videos on youtube that are very educational. TruthNeverTold is Chris Duane's channel, he has the Sons of Liberty Academy series which is a LOT of information, I believe at least 40 hours worth. Mike Maloney's channel "whygoldandsilver" has a few really educational videos, I specifically like "Why Gold and Silver? Mike Maloney tells all", which is about 1 1/2 hrs. I also subscribe to Gregory Mannarino, SGTbull07, SchiffReport, UnconventionalFIN, and David Morgan's channels.