Coins v Bars when including tax

Discussion in 'Silver' started by anomeric, Dec 8, 2012.

1. anomeric

anomeric New Member

Hi all,

I'm new to the whole PM thing but I've been researching for about six months now and I'm finally preparing to buy some silver. I'm in the UK so I'm looking at good places across Europe and I've come across a dealer in Germany who seems very good.

My question is with regards to whether I should buy coins or bars of silver. Normally I'd say bars, but because of the way tax is done, coins seem to be a better buy. Here's why:

1oz silver bar = 32.43 EUR
    1oz Silver Eagle = 30.18 EUR
    1oz Maple Leaf = 29.81 EUR

The reason being is that tax on bars is 19% but tax on coins is 7%.

I'm thinking I should buy coins, they cost more (before tax) but actually end up costing less after tax, so it seems I'm getting a more valuable item for less because of the differing taxes.

What are your thoughts? Is there a difference to holding coins v bars? Is it harder/easier to sell one or the other?

Thanks

2. wrcmad

wrcmad Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

If it were me I'd take a drive to Norway and buy it there - where there is apparently no tax on bullion.

Otherwise, I'd get someone from over here to send you "machinery parts".

3. Pirocco

Pirocco Well-Known Member

I'm in your world region, and that tax difference talked about by some dealers, has some contradictions. Sometimes I wondered if they are lying about it.
    Take for ex Netherland, some dealers state that coins with a face value in a legal tender currency have a lower tax rate set on them. But other dealers state that coins are tax free. Also, the invoices do not show any tax item.
    Then, if I calculate the sales price difference with spot, I see exactly that higher (common/consumption) tax ratio. And that isn't normal, because it should be more than spot+tax, otherwise the dealer makes no profit.