Advice on coins, rounds & bars

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Eruaran, Oct 5, 2012.

1. Eruaran

Eruaran Member

Hello everybody, I've been buying a mixture of 1oz items for a few months now but was wondering, does it matter what I buy (as long as I'm not paying too much over spot)? Would I be better off with American Eagles, Canadian Maples or Perth Mint coins rather than rounds like Buffalo's or Scottsdale rounds and bars? Is it really an issue at all or really just a bunch of fluff and 1oz of silver is 1oz of silver? At the moment I'm inclined to go with rounds at a lower price, especially as prices rise (and because I kind of like Scottsdale stuff). Thoughts?

Edit: I guess what I'm asking is, is there any advantage to buying an American Eagle (for example) over a round? Or is there any disadvantage to buying rounds? Or is none of this more important than just buying 1oz of silver as close to spot as possible no matter what is stamped on it since if and when you sell, the buyer really is only going to consider that its 1oz of silver and maybe the condition its in? Am I answering my own questions here? :p

2. Eureka Moments

Eureka Moments Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Maybe consider larger bars or coins. Prices closer to spot than 1oz.

Also beware of fake products. If you constantly chase the cheapest deals regardless of brand or who the seller is there is a reasonable chance you will encounter some. Try using the search function for threads/pics about fakes on here. Fake Scottsdale bars exist as do many others.

3. Eruaran

Eruaran Member

Thanks Eureka, I have definitely considered larger bars but always end up buying 1oz because I want more flexibility if I sell later (but maybe I should buy a few). As far as fakes go I've only ever bought from the Perth Mint and Bullion Bourse. The extent of my looking at prices is limited to checking out the BB website to see what prices are today because BB give me great service and make me happeh. :)

4. thatguy