Career Change

Discussion in 'General Precious Metals Discussion' started by Lunty, Sep 25, 2012.

1. Lunty

Lunty New Member Silver Stacker

I'm 30 years old, I have served 10 years in the defence force for the army as a truckie. In that time I have been a driver, bulk fuel operator, driver instructor, transport manager and have done 2 overseas tours, been all over Australia. I have spent alot of time away from home, I have done some amazing things and have loved every mintue of it :lol: , but my time is coming to an end due 2 reasons,
    1 posting cycle.......I do not wish to drag my parter and myself away from home and family in Brisbane.
    2 I want a new challenge and to be doing something that I'm passionate about ie, precious metals

So if you were in my shoes armed with aspirations, drive and ambition, no experience in PM but loved the stuff and want to work in the industry, what would be your dream job, ie mining, refining, minting or buying/selling? Any ideas on a reasonable place to start? ie tafe, uni, work experience.

I'm stuck with where to start and thought I'd put it out there if anyone has any ideas to contribute.

GP if you are looking for a fulltime bullion cleaner, I'm your man :p

Cheers Lunty

PS I think a job like this would be a way good to get to know the industry for retail.

http://ninemsn.seek.com.au/Job/office-all-rounder-sales/in/sydney-sydney/23204831

2. Kawa

Kawa New Member

I personally regard ADF experience very highly as it tells alot about the person in terms of commitment and service.I actually employed an ex serviceman in a previous business of mine and his transition was incredibly successful and he brought a different dimension and drive to our team.

On a recent personal note.My son will be doing final assessment within weeks to try and score the position of Artillery-Air Defender.

I wish you well Lunty and thankyou for serving our country for 10 years.

3. Lunty

Thank you Kawa and good luck to your son.
    Lunty