When to move up to larger coins or bars

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Mel427, Aug 18, 2012.

1. Mel427

Mel427 New Member

I'm new to stacking. As a matter of fact I just made my first purchase this week and now that I have made the plunge I find myself with more questions than I had before. I am not a volume buyer. I make small purchases as my budget allows but I know eventually I will accumulate enough 1 oz. coins/ bars that I will have to move into larger bullion sizes. At what ratio should you think about moving from ounces to 10 oz. and so on. I would like to stay fairly liquid in small rounds/bars for any potential economic problems but still want to have larger amounts as part of my long term investing.

2. Jash

Jash New Member

That's really a matter of personal preference. I'd get to at least 100oz of 1oz coins before adding some larger bars.

I'm about 2/3 coins and the rest in 0.5kg and 1kg bars. I'd never go larger than 1kg because it'll be easier to sell if silver goes pretty high than a 100oz or 15kg bar.

Though, there will always be a buyer for any quantity of silver, it's just easier to get out of smaller amounts quickly.

3. 1for1

1for1 Well-Known Member

I started with big and moved down (which is really up).. ie: higher premiums or gold/platinum/rhodium/palladium/gems

Once you have exhausted space then start downsizing...

my end goal is a handful of valuable

But if i were to buy into your premise, id buy BIG stuff when i thought there was a silver price BOTTOM or very close to it (perhaps like now) which is a good time to BUY IN, dollar cost averaging may work well for your smaller stuff.. ie: popular legal tender from popular world mints.

Its good to assign rules to your strategy but i wouldnt want to be to rigid with your parameters as the pace of the market changes the game to an extent where tomorrow your outlook and logic may have totally changed.

1for1

4. Lunartic

Lunartic Member Silver Stacker