New to coins and Pm help appreciated

Discussion in 'Silver Coins' started by Deano3, Jul 14, 2012.

1. Deano3

Deano3 New Member

Hi all i am new to PM purchased 8x1 oz bars and 1x 250g bar so far but purchasing another 250g bar but i am now looking at coins as a better investment as for collective terms etc, what are best coins to start with that will hold and go up in value ? seen the eagles and the maples and the pandas, also how many coins or normally made ? and how many to be valuable in future

has anyone any ides of how many of these were made etc ? https://www.ukbullion.co.uk/productDetails/2547

or these https://www.ukbullion.co.uk/productDetails/2548

look like nice coins but like i say i am new to this thanks Dean
    any help would be great

2. Itanimulli

Itanimulli New Member

Hi Deano

I would steer of those two coins you posted. They're kinda gimmicky, in my opinion - and I don't mean the subjects of the coins - obviously they're both sad events. I don't think they have much collective value because people don't really buy silver for sentimental reasons - especially if you're looking for solid investments. It's going to be a smaller market of people interested in both the Titanic and 9/11.

I would say for UK buyers the 1oz Silver Britannia's are a good shout. They have low mintage numbers http://www.silverbullionworld.com/britanniamintage.html

When and if you come to sell these coins you're probably going to have more success selling native UK coins. It's about trying to cover all bases, rather than small interests, etc.

This site has a lot of info about the coins you've mentioned http://www.silverbullionworld.com/index.html

3. Black_Sun

Black_Sun New Member

Had a look on APMEX (a good point of reference for world bullion/coins) and couldn't find those exact rounds. However... APMEX is selling various rounds for $31.35 each (discount if you buy >20), and 24.82 = US$38.66, and this is excluding VAT.