Where to start?

Discussion in 'Silver' started by mango, May 11, 2012.

1. mango

mango New Member

I'm about to make my first silver purchase so I'm new to this. I have been reading on this site for a while though.
    Of course there are the two million dollar questions that I'd like to get peoples opinion on? When & What?

When- I am thinking of waiting for the silver price to hit closer to $25-$26 an ounce, does anyone think that is possible in this climate?

What- I am swinging towards 1kg PM bars at the moment as I'm looking at buying around $20k - $30k first of, then maybe more later.

Any opinions appreciated.

2. Graeme

Graeme Member Silver Stacker

I believe it is unlikely silver will drop much more than it is currently ... but who knows for sure.

3. TofuAttack

TofuAttack New Member

In my opinion, I think it's very possible it could drop to 27 and maybe even 26 but if it does it will be for a very short amount of time, and then we'll see the rise to the next peak and won't ever see silver price that low again.

But it's difficult due to so many factors in the silver market, the trading price of silver is so far off what it should be in a free market.

4. Guest

Guest Guest

Pull the trigger, all bars.. Max metal for the money. Coins later

5. Papina

Papina New Member

dollar cost average from 29 down to 26. spend $5k ($20k ) every dollar silver goes down.
    if it goes lower spend another $5k every dollar till it settles around $22-$23 ($15k-$20k).

Average buy in will be anywhere between 24 and 26ish not taking into account premiums if you go physical (which you can prob get back on resell).

go 50% Physical (LT) and 50% ASX:ETPMAG (ST) for quick sale if there is a spike to US$35.

Don't go all in $30k on one sale unless you have another $30k you can average in later if it goes to shit at -20% or worse. Maybe you were the $25 million lotto winner? if so, go for it.